Euphoria’s Blog for Green Mamas

advice, news & freebies

Have Baby, will Swim May 20, 2008

Filed under: Baby & Toddler — Rachel @ 3:41 pm
Tags: ,

It was this time last year that I realized I was in complete denial.  My then 2 1/2 year old was gleefully anticipating the day that our community pool would open.  Aria’s favorite water activity was to jump off the steps into deep water with a big, goofy grin (see picture), trusting that mama or daddy would bring her back to the surface (yes, we plan to teach her more water safety this year).  So… how was I to manage this game with the addition of a 3-month-old baby?

I am genetically thrifty, so I had been telling myself that I’d hold baby or that he might do ok in one of those floaty rings made for baby.  Wow, what a laugh!  Clearly I’d need both hands free to play with my toddler – holding baby is not an option, besides they’re too slippery!   Everyone suggested that we put Aria in arm floaties.  But, in my opinion, they delay learning and give a false sense of security.  And the floaty baby rings are a joke.  No WAY are those safe for a young baby!

So, yes, it was about this time last summer I realized I needed a baby carrier designed for the water.  In a carrier, Liam would be secure.  So long as I stayed above water, so would he.  Plus, mama’s hands would be free to catch daring big sister and even to make valiant efforts to teach her how to swim.  My research led me to the Clene Baby Carrier, a frontpack baby carrier made out of neoprene.  Neoprene is quick drying, washable, anti-microbial and mold-resistant – perfect for the beach or the pool!  The Clene water carrier was comfy and easy-to-use in and out of the water.  And, as for care, I just rinsed and hung it to drip-dry in my bathtub along with our swimsuits.  So easy.  Mom and daddy approved.

If you have a young baby this year and are headed for the water, I definitely recommend the Clene Baby Carrier.  It gave me great peace of mind and made it easy to keep everyone happy during those warm summer months.  I took Aria to the pool just as often as ever.  Liam loved it too!

P.S.  If you’re “genetically thrifty” too, you may be interested to know that I’m selling my Clene water carrier.  At 16 months, Liam is NOT going to agree to be contained this summer.  My red carrier is in excellent condition :0) SOLD!

 

Leave a comment