Euphoria’s Blog for Green Mamas

advice, news & freebies

Getting Outside in Hot Weather June 23, 2009

Filed under: Family Culture — Rachel @ 5:27 pm
Tags: ,

_MG_5808Ever since the first day of June, it’s been near and above 90 degrees, hereabout, and humid too.  The warm summer weather came as a bit of a shock to us, driving us inside. 

I think it’s important that children play outside everyday.  We get outside throughout the day on Wednesday, when I’m hanging laundry, and every Friday morning, when our friends come over for playgroup.  (On other weekdays, my children are with grandma, while I work).  So, it’s not that we’re not getting outside… it’s the quality and duration of our outside play that is lacking.  A quick jaunt on the playground, a half-hearted bike ride, maybe a tad of tree-climbing when friends are over, and that’s it.  Where is the exploration?  Who’s pretending?  Is anyone noticing the flowers, bugs, clouds, birds? 

I’m sure they’re noticing, even when I’m not noticing that they’re noticing (and that’s a lot of noticing).  But, I think there’s a lot more there for us to see.  We live far-off the road and surrounded by forest, so it’s a pretty safe and exciting environment.   The trick is, they really desire mom to adventure alongside them.  And, at 2 and 4.5, I suppose that’s pretty reasonable.  How to reconnect with my inner child and inspire them to go beyond the playground and bike path to the natural world beyond? 

After browsing through some blogs, I landed on a book at Amazon, “Nature’s Playground: Activities, Crafts, and Games to Encourage Children to Get Outdoors.”  I hope it has some activities that will inspire me to lead some adventures.  It definitely has some beautiful pictures of children playing in nature that I hope may give my oldest some new ideas.  Fortunately, it’s available at my library.  I’ve requested it, and I’ll report back with a review. 

 

One Response to “Getting Outside in Hot Weather”

  1. […] Rachel @ 8:32 am Tags: good books, homeschool, in real life, playtime, Waldorf Since I posted Getting Outside in Hot Weather, I’ve been enjoying this focus on outdoor play and casual nature study with my little ones.  […]


Leave a Reply

