Euphoria’s Blog for Green Mamas

advice, news & freebies

Don’t Forget the Baby Book! February 28, 2009

Filed under: Family Culture — Rachel @ 6:27 pm

Last week I was unpacking my books in my newly finished office/playroom when I came across Aria’s baby book.  This little volume, which purports to record her first five years, was in need of attention!   I resolved to fill in the portions for her 3rd and 4th birthdays, when I realized… “Liam does not have a baby book!”

Oops!  Big oops.  It’s all fine and well for me to keep up with my eldest child’s baby book, but to only just realize when my youngest is now TWO that I didn’t even start one for him!?!  My goodness!  I blush.  Technically, I kept a sort of digital baby book for him the first 6 or so months, but that was a joke.  I mean, if a mom can forget to keep up with a physical baby book sitting there on the shelf, how much more likely that she’ll forget and worse yet – lose – a digital version. 

So, take heed.  Don’t forget the baby book!  If you intend to keep one (and this is easier than scrapbooking, trust me), put it out on your desk.  Display it in baby’s room.  Do anything but slide it in amongst your parenting books on the shelf.  Because, how often do you read those parenting books, really? 😉 

One last tip.  If you really like the format of your baby book and you plan on having more children, buy more books now!  I searched high and low to find another copy of Aria’s baby book last night.  But it’s out of print and completely GONE.  It would have been nice (and felt fair…) to use the same book.  Instead I’ve settled for an Eric Carle version, which at least reminds me of my son’s favorite stories.  I figure I’ve got to start jogging my memory somehow…

 

2 Responses to “Don’t Forget the Baby Book!”

  1. Allyssa Says:

    Since you mentioned you kept a digital book, you might like How Fast They Grow. howfasttheygrow.com It is a digital scrapbooking site that I love.

  2. Ramona Says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!


Leave a Reply

