Euphoria’s Blog for Green Mamas

advice, news & freebies

Cleaning your face with… OIL! September 30, 2008

Filed under: Eco-Friendly Living,Healthy Living — Rachel @ 9:04 pm
Tags: ,

I didn’t see this one coming.  About a month ago I ditched my facial care regimen and traded it all in (the cleanser, the toner, the scrub, the moisturizer, the serum, the mask) for one little jar of oil.  Yup, it cost me about $20 for two large bottles of pure, organic cold-pressed oils (castor oil and sunflower oil).  I mixed them in a glass jar at a ratio of 25% castor and 75% sunflower.   I simply massage the oil into my face once a day or every other day to cleanse and moisturize.  Remove with a warm washcloth.  And, that’s it. 

I heard about this on Holistic Mom’s National Yahoo group.  You can get the details at http://www.theoilcleansingmethod.com/.  I was very skeptical.  Obviously, it seems counter intuitive.  Also, I have blemish-prone skin that’s sometimes oily and sometimes very dry.   Nothing makes my skin happy.  Nothing.  (OK, well Mary Kay kind of did, but I had to stop using it because of toxicity issues). 

Well, I have to report that after using this method for over a month, my skin is pretty happy.  Not that I never have blemishes.  But, I may have less and definitely don’t have more.  The biggest improvement is that it doesn’t get overly oily or overly dry.  That’s a big one.  Plus, it’s very liberating to only have to tend to your face once a day, after years of faithful skin service (cleanse, scrub, tone, moisturize…).  And, I can’t argue with the savings or the eco-friendly simplicity of it all.   My $20 supply of oil may last for nine months or more!

Other moms on Holistic Moms have been very pleased as well.  Do you have the guts to try cleaning your face with oil?

 

4 Responses to “Cleaning your face with… OIL!”

  1. Anita Says:

    OOH MY GOODNESS, I am not sure about this, but if you say it works it must. Who would of thought “oil”. Yikes, I will think about using this on my face. Why do you think it works?

    Sis- Anita

  2. Rachel Says:

    Castor oil has cleansing properties. Many pure oils, in their cold-pressed/cold-processed forms, have healing or cleansing properties. Since oil is excellent at permeating the skin, it makes sense to me that a cleansing oil would work. Weird, but good!

  3. […] Oil Cleansing Method:  This is my latest switch.  I put aside my arsenal of facial products (cleanser, scrub, mask, toner, moisturizer, serum) for […]

  4. April Bickford Says:

    im a super busy new military mom. my hubby serves and i stay home with our 3 month old son, although i will have a full time job soon 😦 but we need the income. and since ive been so busy, i hardly take time to cleanse my face. curently using mary kays three step process and find myself too tired to bother. i am quite interested in trying this oil cleansing. i really hope it works!


Leave a Reply

