Euphoria’s Blog for Green Mamas

advice, news & freebies

A Creative Family Lifestyle July 29, 2008

Filed under: Family Culture — Rachel @ 12:01 am
Tags:

I facilitate the book club for my local chapter of Holistic Moms Network. This month we discussed “The No-Cry Discipline Solution” by Elizabeth Pantley, one of my favorite parenting authors. It had some great tips for gentle, but clever discipline and reminded me to have the right perspective: my job is to teach Aria to have self-control, not to control her myself.

Anyhoo, I wanted to tell you about the book we’ll be discussing next time. It’s “The Creative Family: How to Encourage Imagination and Nurture Family Connections” by Amanda Soule. This book has been popping up everywhere lately! It’s designed to help families embrace new ways to relax, play, and grow together by doing simple things like enjoying nature, using imagination and playing with basic art supplies and household objects. I’m so excited to read this book because, to be honest, creativity is not my forte. As an aspiring home-schooler (in the unschooling manner) and a part-time stay-at-home mom, I would love to create a home-culture like the one Amanda describes.

One of my friends from Holistic moms pointed out that this blog has a fun interview with the author and a giveaway for a free copy of the book. Good luck everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

