Euphoria’s Blog for Green Mamas

advice, news & freebies

Overwhelmed or Inspired – A Reflection February 18, 2008

Filed under: Eco-Friendly Living,Family Culture,Healthy Living — Rachel @ 8:17 pm
Tags:

If you’ve been reading this blog for some time, you may have noticed that many recent posts share a common thread of toxicity awareness and consumer reform.  It’s no secret that I advocate many alternative products for mom and baby, from skin care to bottles to diapers.  If you don’t know me well, you might wonder if I’m hyper-sensitive or on a mission to scare parents. 

Well, I’m not.  In fact, I believe myself to be rather trusting of people.  What I don’t trust is mega-corporations or federal organizations funded by special interests.  Although the last thing I want to do is overwhelm my readers with a HUGE list of “change this, or else…”  On the other hand, I don’t believe that the saying “innocence is bliss” holds true in the area of parenting.  As a parent, I am deeply concerned to learn of any threats to my children’s health and happiness that I may prevent.  And I believe this is the case with most parents.  Because it seems to me that the threats are real and so easily preventable, I feel compelled to spread awareness. 

It’s easy to think, “Oh, I wish I had known!”  My babies were breastfed, but I used Avent bottles to deliver pumped breastmilk a few days each week.  Now I know that Avent bottles leach BPA.  I have a whole list of “I wish I’d known” and “I want to replace”.  At times I get overwhelmed too, but then I think that every little change makes a difference.  The health of our children rests on the many small choices we make every day, choices that they will make someday independently in the foods they eat and the products they use.  Today’s small choice is a deposit towards tomorrow’s well-being.  Don’t be overwhelmed, be inspired!  Inspired and empowered to be a force of change.

 Thank-you for reading,

 Rachel

 

One Response to “Overwhelmed or Inspired – A Reflection”

  1. gwen Says:

    so true. i often read blogs and feel
    1. so inspired to do better
    2. so behind and unclear what to do first.

    thanks for the reminder that every change we make for our kiddos and families is important and that doing something is better than dong nothing at all!

    gwen


Leave a Reply

