Euphoria’s Blog for Green Mamas

advice, news & freebies

Organic – It’s growing! September 25, 2007

Filed under: Eco-Friendly Living — Rachel @ 6:35 pm

Is it just me, or is organic cropping up everywhere?  Organic food, we know and love.  Now there’s organic clothes, organic purses, organic sheets, organic mattresses, the list goes on and on.  Soon we’ll be buying organic sofas and driving organic cars!  Don’t get me wrong – I think it’s great.  I’m all for protecting our natural resources, our world, and ourselves.  I guess I just feel a little overwhelmed by how fast this is changing.  Just a few years ago, only the real serious “naturalists” ate organic.  Already, I’m starting to think about switching over to organic linens…  My husband still says “no” to cloth diapers.  Maybe I can wear him down?  Where do you fall?  Are you green?  If you’re not, you soon may be! 

 

3 Responses to “Organic – It’s growing!”

  1. No Thanks Says:

    Umm, the concept of organic has existed before humans came along. Organic means no chemicals, fair wages and not treating animals like machines. Sorry if “organic” seems like a fad, it’s only a more natural lifestyle.

    Just because someone cares about being healthy doesn’t mean they’re a fanatic or extremist. It only makes sense to minimize chemicals in your daily life to increase the quality of your life. It’s not rocket science! 🙂 And we “greenies” care because it’s our health, not because Hollywood folks are doing it.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Reader,

    Thanks for your comment! You are absolutely right that organic has been around for a LONG time. I did not mean to imply that organic is “only” a fad. I definitely don’t feel that the organic lifestyle is extremist, on the contrary – it is one I pursue myself. My blog was meant to observe that interest in all things organic is gaining momentum in the “mainstream”, which I think is a wonderful thing! I am glad that folks like yourself have lead the way for those of us who are just now getting on board.

  3. shay Says:

    Very well written response to a not-so-nice comment. =) I liked this post because I think it’s great how popular “going green” is now. But I do kindof feel like a lot of people are just hopping on the eco-friendly bus to say they are. I’m keeping my fingers crossed it sticks!
    Have a good day!


Leave a Reply

