Euphoria’s Blog for Green Mamas

advice, news & freebies

Baby Gadgets You Can Skip August 13, 2007

Filed under: Baby & Toddler — Rachel @ 8:18 pm

Overwhelmed by all those baby products?  Here’s a list of what you can skip:

  • Wipes warmer (can’t use it all the time, so get baby used to cold wipes)
  • Fancy Diaper Stacker (any basket or drawer will do)
  • Bottle Sterilizer (just use your dishwasher)
  • Highchair (a booster seat w/tray is cheaper and fits on your existing chairs)
  • Stroller Sunshade (your stroller canopy will suffice, or use a baby blanket)
  • Jumper (these are dangerous – opt for an exersaucer instead)
  • Walker (same as above)
  • Humidifier (who uses these?)
  • Sleep Positioners (safety experts say back is best)
  • Mobile (cute, but you really want baby sleeping, not playing in that crib)

Did I miss something?  Do you disagree?  I welcome your comments!

 

0 Responses to “Baby Gadgets You Can Skip”

  1. lisa Says:

    I knew walkers were dangerous, but jumpers? I couldn’t have lived without ours.

  2. lisa Says:

    Oh… and the crib — biggest waste of money EVER. The cats liked it too and it takes up so much space in the garage.

  3. Spiff Says:

    Personally, I loved my bottle sterilizer. We didn’t have a dishwasher, and got the Medela sterilizer bags that go in the microwave. They also sterilize breastpump parts and pacifiers.

    We also use a humidifier all the time. My daughter is now 3 1/2 and it really helps her sleep if she is congested…

  4. Sabi Mom Says:

    I am one of the few unlucky Americans who doesn’t own a dishwasher, so a bottle sterilizer was great. Unfortunately, with all the talk about bisphenol A leaching harmful chemicals to your baby, I am wondering if the microwave sterilizer I used was a bad thing. I also liked the mobile, although I never used it at night. It definitely kept my baby entertained when she reached about 2 1/2 months. One thing I could’ve done without was a changing pad cover. That darn cover spent more time in the washing machine than on the changing pad. I soon discovered that laying the baby on the bare plastic changing pad worked just fine and was much eaasier for clean up.

  5. Al Says:

    Who *doesn’t* use a humidifier? Sorry, we don’t all live at the equator…


Leave a Reply

